2 GOP House members who voted to impeach Trump will not run again

2 GOP House members who voted to impeach Trump will not run again

There were two.

After the defeat of Rep. Liz Cheney in Tuesday s Wyoming Republican primary by a Trump-backed challenger, just two GOP House members who voted to impeach Donald Trump over his role in Jan. 6, 2021 will be on the ballot in November.

The other eight, including Cheney, either lost their primaries or chose to retire.

The two Republicans who advanced are Dan Newhouse of Washington and David Valadao of California. Besides Cheney, here s who lost their primaries are the four who decided not to run again: Trump and his team celebrated Cheney's loss, as the Associated Press reported, with the former president calling the result a complete rebuke of the Jan. 6 committee. The former president, who was prevented from posting to Twitter and Facebook, should be ashamed of herself, the way she acted, and her spiteful, sanctimonious words and actions toward others, he said on his own social-media platform. The House committee on Jan. 6 insurrection at the Capitol was disrupted by a mob of Trump supporters who disrupted the congressional certification of President Joe Biden's election victory over Trump two months ago. After leaving Congress, she could have a presidential run, according to MarketWatch. Liz Cheney is on track to lose her primary in Wyoming. She might want to visit the White House next.