Argentina In the last 16 of World Cup

50
2
Argentina In the last 16 of World Cup

Big Brother Day seven, and Argentina are up for eviction. Big Brother Lionel Messi's side was supposed to cruise through Group C and start their World Cup proper with a last 16 tie against Denmark and France. Their amazing wallchart-busting defeat to Saudi Arabia on whatever day it was, there are no days of the week during the World Cup group stage, meaning that they are fighting for their metaphorical lives.

The situation is simple, just like in the old days: if Argentina loses to Mexico in Lusail tonight, they will be out, and Messi will never score a goal in the knockout stages of a World Cup, never mind win the thing. Argentina have gone out on only three occasions at the first group stage: 1958, 1962 and most famously, 2002, when Marcelo Bielsa's side was groupofdeathed by Sweden and England.

One of their own Tata Martino, former coach of Argentina and Barcelona, is in charge of Mexico tonight. Things aren't quite as critical for his side. They won't be out if they lose tonight, but they would need a big favor from Poland on Wednesday. Mexico, as a fule kno, is supposed to reach the last 16 and go no further; that is what happened in the last seven World Cups.

They started with a watchful but not particularly watchable 0 - 0 draw against Poland, in which Robert Lewandowski's penalty was saved by Guillermo Ochoa. Mexico s biggest problem is goalcoring they managed just 17 in 14 games during qualification and they would sell their soul to have the old, pre-skull fracture Raul Jimenez back.

Kick off 7 pm GMT, 10 pm in Lusail, 4 pm in Buenos Aires, 1 pm in Mexico City.