UN Board of Auditors to chairmanship for two years

UN Board of Auditors to chairmanship for two years

The board will hold the chairmanship of the United Nations Board of Auditors for two years starting on January 1, according to Hou Kai, auditor general of the National Audit Office.

After the special session, Hou highlighted the importance of the UN as one of the most important international organizations at a time when the world is dealing with momentous changes that are not seen in a century and the development of humanity is facing significant challenges.

He said it is increasingly important to uphold the international system with the UN at its core and the international order based on international law, and to resolutely safeguard the UN's core role in international affairs.

Hou said that he will work closely with other members of the board to deliver professional and independent audits, which could help the UN to improve management and performance, improve transparency and accountability, and improve reform and governance.

Efforts will be made to contribute to the implementation of the UN's 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the building of a community with a shared future for humankind, he said.

The Board of Auditors is an important institution of the UN. It was established in 1946 to audit the accounts and performance of the UN organization, as well as its funds and programs, and report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly.

The UN secretary-general is responsible for urging relevant entities to implement the audit recommendations.

The three members of the board are appointed by the General Assembly, and each must be the auditor-general or officer holding the equivalent title in a member state.

Besides Hou, the two other members of the board are Jorge Bermudez, the comptroller general of Chile, and Pierre Moscovici, the first president of the Court of Accounts of France.

Hou, 60, was appointed auditor general of the National Audit Office in June 2020. He is a member of the 20th Central Committee of the Communist Party of China and a member of the 20th Committee on Discipline Inspection of the CPC.