Kumar Mangalam Birla among 106 Padma recipients

Kumar Mangalam Birla among 106 Padma recipients

Kumar Mangalam Birla, chairman of Aditya Birla Group, late Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav, educator and philanthropist Sudha Murty, late ace investor Rakesh Jhunjhunwala are among the 106 Padma recipients announced on Wednesday, on the eve of the 74th Republic Day.

President Droupadi Murmu has approved the conferment of 106 Padma Awards for the year 2023. The list comprises six Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri recipients. The list also includes 19 women and seven posthumous awardees from the category of foreigners NRI PIO OCI.

Mulayam Singh Yadav, musician Zakir Hussain, late ORS pioneer Dilip Mahalanabis, mathematician Srinivas Varadhan and politican S M Krishna will receive Padma Vibhushan. Mulayam Singh Yadav died on October 10 at the age of 82. He was the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh for three terms - 1989, 1993 and 2003. Sudha Murty, Kumar Mangalam Birla and Padma Bhushan are among the nine recipients of the award.

Rakesh Radheshyam Jhunjhunwala posthumous RRR movie composer M M Keeravaani and actress Raveena Ravi Tandon are among the 91 recipients of Padma Shri, the country's fourth-highest civillian award.

Expert snake-catchers from the Irula tribe in Tamil Nadu, Vadivel Gopal and Masi Sadiyan were among those conferred with the Padma Shri.