Iran imposes new sanctions on EU, EU, Britain

Iran imposes new sanctions on EU, EU, Britain

The Iranian Foreign Ministry imposed new sanctions on a number of individuals and entities of the EU and Britain on January 25, 2023. PHOTO AFP TEHRAN - The Iranian Foreign Ministry on Wednesday imposed new sanctions on a number of individuals and entities of the European Union, EU and Britain, for supporting terrorism and inciting violence and unrest in Iran.

The ministry said in a statement released on its website that they were citing their interference in Iran's internal affairs, dissemination of false information about Iran and participation in cruel sanctions against Iranians as other reasons for imposing sanctions.

The sanctions, covering three EU entities and 22 individuals, one British entity, and eight incumbent and former officials, will prohibit the targeted individuals from entering Iran and will freeze their assets and bank accounts inside Iran, according to the statement.

ALSO READ: Iran warns the EU not to blacklist Revolution Guards.

The sanctioned individuals are the French Minister for Cities and Housing Olivier Klein, Member of the European Parliament Dietmar Koster, Attorney General for England Victoria Mary Prentis and former head of the British Secret Intelligence Service Richard Billing Dearlove.

On Monday, the EU imposed sanctions on more than 30 Iranian officials and organizations, including units of Iran's Islamic Revolution Guards Corps, for their response to the recent protests in the country. The United States and Britain have announced new sanctions on Iran on the same day.

Protests erupted in Iran after 22-year-old Mahsa Amini died in a Tehran hospital on September 16, 2022, a few days after her collapse at a police station. Iran accuses the United States and some other Western countries of inciting riots and supporting terrorists in the country.