Key Contests and Crucial Votes to Shape the State's Political Landscape

Key Contests and Crucial Votes to Shape the State's Political Landscape

Phase 4 Voting in Uttar Pradesh

Voters across 13 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will cast their ballots in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 on May 13. Polling will take place in Shahjahanpur (SC), Kheri, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Hardoi (SC), Misrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, and Bahraich (SC). A total of 130 candidates are vying for seats in this phase.

The Kannauj constituency will witness a high-profile contest between SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and sitting BJP MP Subrat Pathak. In Unnao, BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj (Swami Sachidanand Hari Sakshi) will face off against SP's Annu Tandon, a former Lok Sabha MP from Unnao.

The BJP has fielded 11 sitting MPs in this phase, along with new candidates Ramesh Awasthi and Anand Kumar from Kanpur and Bahraich-SC seats, respectively. The SP has nominated candidates in 11 Lok Sabha seats, while Congress has fielded Alok Misra for Kanpur and Rakesh Rathor in Sitapur.

Over 2.46 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in this phase of the Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh.

Fourth Phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

The fourth phase of the current general elections is scheduled for May 13, encompassing 96 seats spread across 10 states/union territories. This phase includes the participation of voters from all 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh and 17 constituencies in Telangana. Additionally, voting will occur in 13 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, 8 in West Bengal, 8 in Madhya Pradesh, 5 each in Bihar and Jharkhand, 4 in Odisha, and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

Notable contenders in this phase include Madhavi Latha from Hyderabad, Telangana; Bandi Sanjay Kumar from Karimnagar, Telangana; Giriraj Singh from Begusarai, Bihar; Y S Sharmila from Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh; Arjun Munda from Khunti, Jharkhand; Shatrughan Sinha from Asansol, West Bengal; and Yusuf Pathan along with Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary from Baharampur, West Bengal.

The remaining three phases of the Lok Sabha elections are scheduled for May 20, May 25, and June 1. The declaration of results will take place on June 4, three days after the final phase of voting.