Anibal Torres resigns as Peru's new cabinet sworn in

Anibal Torres resigns as Peru's new cabinet sworn in

Torres resigned on Wednesday in a letter to President Pedro Castillo, attributing his decision to personal reasons and wishing his friend Castillo success.

Torres said he retired from that position after having served alongside you, our homeland and particularly the put-off and forgotten people.

Castillo must accept or reject his resignation by Peruvian law.

Castillo told local media on Thursday that a new cabinet will be sworn in on Friday.

We are going to swear in this cabinet tomorrow and I hope it will be a Cabinet that follows our call, and from today I will make some decisions regarding the Cabinet. Castillo said let's create a broad-based cabinet to work for Peru, while being constantly interrupted by reporters. President Pedro Castillo left and Anibal Torres right in February. Torres, whose tenure was almost 6 months, announced his resignation almost a week after President Castillo had a year in power. He accepted the position in February after former Prime Minister Hector Valer stepped down amid allegations of domestic violence against him. Valer, who had only been in office for four days, denied the allegations. The resignation of Torres comes after Castillo is under pressure to resign by the opposition. Castillo is currently the subject of five investigations, four of which are for alleged corruption. On Thursday, Castillo went to the prosecutor's office with his legal team to testify on one of those allegations. Castillo previously admitted he had made mistakes and said he was willing to cooperate with any investigation. Castillo said before Congress celebrated Peru's National Day on July 28 that I present myself to justice in order to clarify the charges that are attributed to me with respect to the due process and not to media justice. According to Peru's constitution, a sitting president may only be impeached on four charges: treason, preventing presidential, regional or local elections, dissolving Congress or blocking the work of the National Election Jury or other electoral bodies.