China, other countries say people who want to leave Afghanistan must leave


WASHINGTON, Aug 15 - More than 60 countries issued a joint statement saying Chinese citizens and international citizens who want to leave Afghanistan must be allowed to leave and added airports and border crossings must remain open, said the U.S. State DepartmentU.S. State Department late Sunday.

The U.S. government and more than 60 other countries including Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Qatar and the United Kingdom said in a joint statement that those in positions of power and authority for the protection of human life and property and for the immediate restoration of security and civil order state responsibility - and accountability - to Afghanistan.

It added Afghans deserve to be blessed with security, security and dignity.