Nairobi Healthcare Reform Taskforce Established

Nairobi Healthcare Reform Taskforce Established

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja has established a seven-member taskforce to evaluate and recommend reforms within the county's healthcare system. Led by former Kenyatta University Vice-Chancellor Prof. Olive Mugenda, the team will have 45 days to review citizens' access to high-quality healthcare, assess the condition of all public health facilities, and examine the supply chain management of medical supplies.

Under the Nairobi Metropolitan Services (NMS), 28 hospitals were built in slum areas to improve healthcare access for informal settlement residents and reduce the reliance on Kenyatta National Hospital. The taskforce is empowered to invite specialists for advice and assistance in specific areas deemed necessary.

Additional responsibilities of the taskforce include evaluating the effectiveness of health information management and proposing enhancements, reviewing existing human resources capacity and identifying areas for improvement, and assessing the current health financing model.

Other members of the taskforce include Dr. Anastacia Nyalita, Dr. Githinji Gitahi, Ms. Dorcas Kemunto, Chief Administrative Secretary in the Ministry of Health Dr. Mercy Mwangangi, St Mary's Hospitals founder Dr. William Charles Fryda, and Ms. Karei Mwenda.

Prior to his retirement, President Kenyatta had commissioned the construction of 14 Level 2 and 3 hospitals to meet the healthcare needs of informal settlement residents in areas such as Gichagi, Mukuru Kwa Reuben, Tassia Kwa Ndege, and Mukuru Kwa Njenga. Additionally, the Mathare-Korogocho Level 5 Hospital was renamed Mama Margaret Kenyatta Hospital.

However, concerns have been raised regarding the lack of adequate facilities, personnel, and medications at these hospitals despite their official openings.